The absolutely addictive smell of a library book…

9 Dec


Digg!

Do you remember that smell, the old musty yet subtly sweet scent of aging paper and glue?

There’s nothing like it in the world, and I just can’t seem to re-create it in books I have at home. I suppose its the mixture a a hundred hosts and the librarians mothball wool sweater and loafers.

Its a smell so distinct, than in a blind test i am certain i could identify the one library book out of a thousand.

Same with paperback vs. hardcover, completely different smell all together, I guess its because there is a different glue.

Of course this comes from the nose of someone who was trained by their husband to sniff out various wines, but still, any nose knows.

Digg!

5 Responses to “The absolutely addictive smell of a library book…”

  1. carlwmonkeydog December 9, 2008 at 7:11 pm #

    I am an avid book sniffer too, and imagine it has much to do with the quality of paper and covers as well as glue. I nearly cringe when I notice a book is sterile, with no scent at all.

  2. lwayswright December 9, 2008 at 7:11 pm #

    I agree with you. It’s like the smell when you go through old houses…historical buildings and things. Amazing smell!

    • featherbookseries December 9, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

      Exactly, I kow exactly what your talking about from all my travel. some things have such a great unique smell unlike anyhting else…

  3. Kathy Andersen December 10, 2008 at 1:22 am #

    Hmm, yes, I wonder exactly how that smell develops. Maybe librarians have a secret powder they dust on or incense they burn at night 🙂 I think it really varies by book; I have an 80’s Sherlock Holmes book that smells delightful and a 40’s O. Henry that is dreadful. Other interesting smells are new school textbooks and newspapers. *p.s. to remove a bad smell, sprinkle cornstarch or baking soda in the pages, put the book in a plastic bag, and allow to sit for a week.

    • featherbookseries December 10, 2008 at 1:51 am #

      I love it! you are so right! when i look at some of the old books my family from Switz sent, they do have a differet smell. Must be the cheese and chocolate! ha ha.

Leave a Reply

