Finish the Quote: “What I really want out of a novel is…”

10 Dec

I’m curious what happens when you are directly asked what you wish to see out of a book, what makes you hunt out the safety and confessional benefits of a novel? Why do you gravitate to one genre over another?Is it your mental state? the existance of a worlds that cannot exist, but you wish it did. The idea of a farytale prince? What do you dream for?

so “What I really want out of a novel is…”

For me, Its a new place, a chance to draw it all out in my mind, and love. Something that seems unattainable in real life, yet believable somehow.

One Response to “Finish the Quote: “What I really want out of a novel is…””

  1. jmreep December 11, 2008 at 1:03 am #

    That’s a very good question. I really had to think about it for a minute.

    I think what I look for is for writing that pushes the limits of language, literature, the novel, or what it means to be a reader. I like to read “experimental” fiction (modernist and pomo stuff).

    Interestingly, I don’t write the kinds of works that I like to read. My own writing tends to be much more conventional.

Leave a Reply

