The inspiration behind “Feather,” and no it’s not “Twilight!”

10 Dec

I’ve been getting a lot of flack recently, and its sort of heart breaking… I’ve noticed in the list of top searches that a lot of viewers are searching the two together…  but they are SO different…

I just want to clarify where the inspiration for my gook came from, and it wasn’t Twilight, I just read those books two weeks ago, it is impossible to write an entire novel that fast…

Fringe: on NBC. there are some seriously eerie things going on with that show right now, and its a huge HUGE inspiration for me right now, especially with Book Two, which I haven’t yet named, and I’m hoping to hols a contest for that.

Highlander: the immortal warrior movie with the wonderful Sean Connery. There is a lot of good stuff in that film, love it! its a classic. The main character loses his love and is forced not just to live one life, but an eternity without her. That’s horrible. That and when he kills the other highlanders he gains power, I was inspired by that too. Besides, both my characters are inhumanly talented, not just one, and they do a lot more than suck blood, act strong, and run fast, I assure you.

and then Ghost: the great love story that spans across even death. when EVER have you seen a movie where the main character dies in the beginning and you’re still compelled to watch it! Amazing use of an idea, and I love it.

I don’t want to spoil my book for anyone out there, but assure you, it has nothing in common other than the horrible happenstance that the two names seem the same, but here are my inspirations/reasons for the names:

Edgar: Was my grandfathers Name, he died last year after a battle with blood clots and pneumonia. I loved him, and he was a strong man, saved his family from the Nazi German’s with nothing more than a leather wallet. I owe my life to him.

Estella or Elle: Okay so anyone who’s seen Legally Blonde could relate, I love that name, and my main character is naturally platinum like me, and no I don’t like blonde jokes…

So this is my nasty “I really didn’t want to have to” explanation…

It’s just that I don’t like being overshadowed, though it happens. I appeal to another audience anyways. I don’t really recommend people under 17 read my book. It can get rather gory, and the story is complicated and heavily woven. Theres a lot more to my book than a human loving a vampire, and better yet, theres no mention of a vampire anywhere in it!

but it is based on a real location. A college called the North Cascades Institute, beautiful place. My parents have a Sea Plane travel company, so they went there. Anyone can finds inspiration from that alone…

Thanks!

AE

One Response to “The inspiration behind “Feather,” and no it’s not “Twilight!””

  1. rita June 9, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    I never would have found your books if not for the whole insane Twilight phenomenon. Evidentally a bunch of us (by us I mean older women) are so taken by that series that we’re having a difficult time finding something to immerse ourselves in, something that would draw us in like Twilight did.

    I’m the first to admit that they’re not even all that well-written, but there’s something there that I love. I’m very excited to have been directed to your website from a Twilight discussion on Amazon, and I can’t wait to read your books. I’m really glad that they’re being recommended to readers who love the whole convoluted, weird Twilight world!

Leave a Reply

