I’m tired of reading books where the author just likes to hear themselves talk?…

11 Dec

I’m tired of the pages after pages of ongoing and unnecessary graphic explanation. What that tells me is that the author simply can’t sum it up in a few powerful and elequently placed words…

I like a story that flows, from one fact to the next. My last great example is probably “The DaVinci Code”

this book, for as controversial as it was, was so entertaining, so many plot twists and expertly mapped out mysteries. I found myself compelled to analyze the paintings in question to find the answers myself.

I enjoy a read that is pure entertainment, controversy aside, and beliefs aside.

But back to my point, I’m tired of the novels with a forced 100,000 words, instead of the beautiful and powerful short story version.

I think its different when the 100,000 words end up being what it took to tell the compelling story, but what i think we are getting away from is the books natural order.

A book is done when its done, and thats it.

so happy writing…

3 Responses to “I’m tired of reading books where the author just likes to hear themselves talk?…”

  1. jmreep December 12, 2008 at 1:49 pm #

    A lot of bloggers seem to be obsessed with their word count and recording in their blogs how many words they wrote that day/week/month/ whatever. There’s even a widget that one can add to a blog that displays one’s word count progress.

    For me, I’ve found that setting out to achieve a specific word count or page count ends up being a self-fulfilling prophecy. For example, if I decide that I am going to write “at least” 100,000 words or 250 pages, or whatever, then — even if I give myself permission to write much more — I will unconsciously find a way to reach that word count goal and end my book somewhere around the 100,000th word or 250th page. It’s really weird, but that has happened to me more than once.

    So what I try to do is just ignore the word/page count. I just try to write the story and let it be as long as it needs to be. As you say, “a book is done when its done”.

    • featherbookseries December 12, 2008 at 4:38 pm #

      I totally agree, the last book I wrote was a YA, and it seems a lot of people are coming out with 150,000 word monstrosities these days, I won’t name names ha ha. And then it lacks a lot of content because they forced it.

      The last book I read of this sort I ended up skipping full sections at a time! My friends gasped in horror cause the book was sort of a “cult following” type book…

      then you see something like Beedle the Bard and you see that its not page numbers, its content…

  2. rita June 9, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    Yes! You’ve hit it right on the head. Da Vinci Code was a fascinating book, but many of my friends denigrated it because it’s not “literature”. I don’t care about that. I want to be entertained, and that book certainly entertained me. I, too, then spent hours looking up the references and learned so much that I wouldn’t have bothered with otherwise.

Leave a Reply

