Word and grammar manipulation…

19 Dec

Before I went to bed last night I began thinking about a little grammar cartoon I saw in the “Grammar Girl” book. It had two characters, one was a banana, the other an aardvark.

The ardvark had a stand of bananas with a sign that read “Bananas $1.50”

The banana had a stand of coins that read “Banana’s $1.50”

Grammatically they are talking about possessives. And I began to think, what if we used grammar like an artist uses paint. I don’t believe an artist is the only one limited to manipulation and experimentation. What if we used grammar to hide secret codes, or special directions. Such as with a fantasy or mystery novel, sort of how The Davinci Code used words as encryption’s and riddles, or National Treasure…

fun fun, i think i’ll use that 🙂

4 Responses to “Word and grammar manipulation…”

  1. jmreep December 19, 2008 at 5:05 pm #

    Congrats on the publication!

    As for using grammar like an artist uses paint, do you means something like this:

    http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&id=bYpkZo9G7PUC&dq=lucy+church+amiably&printsec=frontcover&source=web&ots=hNL-3Qifi9&sig=e4ElX7qygieF3rfo3YhW_nOK5qw&sa=X&oi=book_result&resnum=3&ct=result#PPA1,M1

    • featherbookseries December 19, 2008 at 5:27 pm #

      Interesting, experimental landscape writing. This is exactly what I was thinking. A part of me believes grammar can be anything you need it to be, as long as its a concious decision, and was done on purpose;)

      thanks, I appreciate your challenging comments, gets the old noodle going…

  2. jmreep December 19, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    🙂
    I’m challenging in a friendly way, I hope. I like to ask questions — it’s what I do.

Leave a Reply

