The Strange Things That Happen When You Self-Publish…

23 Dec

So I am an avid self publisher, and I stumbled upon Barnes and Noble today, and entered my publishers name, Crimson Oak Publishing LLC…

To my utter disbelief I find that my book is being sold at Barnes and Noble! course you’d think, well wouldn’t you know that from sales, but no, I didn’t because I’m still in the Pre-Order faze for paperbacks, so they are selling my book for pre-order… Though I’ve received successful sales through ebook and Kindle, I’m now really excited for my book shipment from the Printer.

I was so enthused that I made some eggs and sausage, I normally don’t do that.

I suppose they found out about the book through the ISBN # so I shouldn’t be too surprised, but I just plum didn’t know they did that…

even if you solely ebook, getting an ISBN is important…

8 Responses to “The Strange Things That Happen When You Self-Publish…”

  1. DOMINO December 23, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    I’ll bet those eggs and sausages tasted great.

  2. ceylanthewriter December 24, 2008 at 12:42 am #

    Read the first chapter, it was really good!

    I wish you the best of luck!

    Keep on writing!

    Ceylan

    • featherbookseries December 24, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks! I appreciate it 🙂 I keep fixing things with it, I feel I’ll be like DaVinci with his self-portrait that he carried for years, always changing it and never satisfied…

  3. jmreep December 24, 2008 at 1:12 am #

    Question time again: Why did you choose Crimson Oak? With all of the possibilities out there, why did you make that choice?

    • featherbookseries December 24, 2008 at 2:20 am #

      First and foremost, I am a Washington State University Coug…
      Crimson and Grey 🙂

      And second it wasn’t mine, it’s the family LLC, and has been for a long time…

      I joined a long line of “DaVinci’s” and they use Crimson Oak as their umbrella “corporation” Per say. See “The DaVinci Method” book, for clarification…

      Crimson Oak LLC has been an investment based family LLC. Based on what we do, we spin off a new LLC. Currently, many in our family want to write, my sister in law wants to get into self-help type books about eating disorders, other family members have experienced things most wouldn’t, and are also “celebrities,” of sorts, in their individual fields, and want to help others facing their same dilemmas. One family member in particular is very special, and has even met the real man from “Into the Wild” as he lived along the same thread, and was there when they filmed the abomination called “Twilight” in Port Angeles.

      Our family is extremely diverse, and BIG. That and I hope to help others, all those other writers out there that are good! And deserve to be heard, we want to eventually make enough buzz to be able to reach out to those writers that are tired of the dull drums of a query letter. A writer should be judged by their writing, not their ability to sell themselves.

      This is my long ass explanation…okay, deep breath…and IN…And OUT… okay I can breathe again 🙂

      Thanks for the challenge 🙂

  4. jmreep December 24, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    Thanks! I understand now.

  5. DOMINO December 24, 2008 at 6:15 am #

    “A writer should be judged by their writing, not their ability to sell themselves.”

    Statements like that make my day.

Leave a Reply

