A Blog Worth Reading: “E-Books Take Off”

24 Dec

I read a blog this morning and found it very viable to the switch between e-books and hard-copy. The article “E-Books Take Off” by Angela Cameron, is worth the read. And this was my comment…

I know what you mean, my kindle sales rival paper-back. And Kindle makes it so easy. But I  think publishers are threatened, they are realizing that they’ve become less of a need. With the unlimited youth these days with seemingly endless knowledge for web design and marketing, publishers will still begin to shrink away, except for the heavy hitters who cater to the few unwilling to put forth the time and effort, and like to go for the ride, which there’s nothing wrong with that.

The small companies will suffer as more authors steer their focuses from endless query letters to marketing and free-to-load ebooking. And ultimately, if done right, more profitable sales, as they see better percentage of revenue. The publishing companies have also, in my opinion, given up too many of their secrets. I see books everywhere about Self-publishing, written by people who were once successful publishers themselves.

The shift will happen, but it will be interesting to see how companies adapt. Plus the fact that ebook’s are “Green.” In the future I believe we will see a world of only ebooks, and the heavy price of readers decrease, until it’s like buying a calculator…

3 Responses to “A Blog Worth Reading: “E-Books Take Off””

  1. eBookGuru December 24, 2008 at 7:00 pm #

    Personally I prefer MobiPocket to Kindle, but eBooks are taking off. I own a network of eBook sites, and most of them have tripled in traffic in the past year alone.

    I will be posting an article on our site, in the New Year, that shares some sales results from one of the smaller ePublishers on the web – the figures are phenomenal; double what I ever expected, and for the best authors in their team likely better than they could ever achieve in the traditional publishing industry.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

    • featherbookseries December 24, 2008 at 8:04 pm #

      I would be very interested in knowing more… keep me in the loop 🙂

    • featherbookseries December 24, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

      Are You a member of IDPF? and if so, are the dues due immediately, or in a year? I’ve read it five times but its still not sticking, every once and a while I can’t deny my blonde roots…

      And how do you like it?

Leave a Reply

