Editing, editing, editing…

29 Dec

It never seems editing is ever truely done, or a book ever perfect. I keep finding some blaringly OBVIOUS mistakes in my book, time after time, and it’s just plum embarassing…

I’ve read through my book at least ten times, and have had editors as well, but it’s ENDLESS. Sometimes I wonder if one can truly be both imaginative, AND have spotless grammar. I know in some books I read, I often catch something, even those books that hit the best seller list. Forgive me for slamming it, but Twilight was a good example, lots of errors, but see, then again I’m not slamming it, because I fear mine will be the same.

But what it comes down to is the story, and how it effects us, dispite the errors. I don’t think Mark Twain gave much hum bug to his frequent use of run on sentences.

I just often read over certain things, like were and where, especially when the rest of the sentence flows, so trust me, you will find those in my book. Even though I’ve scanned the thing, to what I feel, an obsessive level.

I am only human, but aren’t we all?

4 Responses to “Editing, editing, editing…”

  1. samza December 29, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    I got the same requests to add some info to Book Blogs. Do you think I should make a group about bookish charities, mention it in the discussion, or leave these kinds of things out of the site altogether? What do you think?

  2. essaadams January 6, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    i believe the editing took longer than the writing and then there was the re-edit x 10 it was like giving birth with no end, and still i found three mistakes after publication – the good thing is I can go into the ebook or kindle and fix them, someday i can fix the print when i switch from AH to Amazon pod… D. Steele’s books have mega mistakes, it make me scream, she should be too for all her editors are paid and as many copyeditors and can be afforded.

    • featherbookseries January 6, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

      YES exactly. I think I have my editing down to a science though, for one of my other books, it only took me a few pass throughs. But Feather was real difficult. I think it was the level of complexity, and I often didn’t even know what was going to happen in the story like until it was on the page, sort of like word vomit ha ha. But i’ve noticed a lot of mistakes in Steele’s books as well, I’m just such a paranoid person sometimes ha ha.

  3. Peggy Bailey June 7, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    I think to fall in love with a book is much like falling in love with a person….you don’t see it’s faults, you simply feel it for what it is…..truly the first read is purely erotic and full of emotion….we don’t need to think.
    I read Feather in just hours and didn’t notice that first mistake…..simply because I craved each and every word, nothing else mattered…..that’s what it is to really read a book.
    Write on girl……I just finished my first novel….oh God 470 pages later….but when the words flow like an open wound…you just keep bleeding until you feel the words are finally out.

    Thanks for such a wonderful glimpse at Edgar and El’s world,

Leave a Reply

