I Accidentally Killed A Bird…

29 Dec

So driving home after visiting my depressing family over Christmas, I drove through (or rather my husband drove through) a group of birds on the back-roads of Eastern Washington. We were in the middle of a wheat field, and he was driving about 80…

These birds love to dodge around your car, and this time, one cut it a little close. As you can probably imagine, I was horrified. I love birds, obviously. Needless to say I shed a tear for the poor thing as its brain’s were wiped from my windshield. Oh, I was so angry too, angry that we HAD to be driving THAT fast…

😦

Of course I outlined to my husband the absolute loss.

“He was probably enjoying the sunny day, bathing in the warmth of the pavement in the middle of a cold snowy field, careless and happy. Until you came…”

luckily he was more careful from there on out, and we saved a group of pheasant that way…

but still, makes me sad

2 Responses to “I Accidentally Killed A Bird…”

  1. essaadams January 6, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    husbands – somehow they do not get that when you are in the car it is a we thing, i know —- my daughter slept with our bird and smothered it, she kept it in her room for two days we had 40 doves at that time so i didn’t miss one, then she left it for me in a box when she went to a friend’s, not the same but definitely traumatic, she was 10.

    • featherbookseries January 6, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

      Oh my gosh! ha ha. I mean that’s so sad, but a little funny. But yes traumatic. I just hate it when animals die, I mean I’m not a vegetarian, I just don’t like to SEE it. It wasn’t the first time though, in Seattle I hit a seagull and it cracked the windshield, that was terrifying…

Leave a Reply

