I finally feel Ok about my run-on sentences

31 Dec

After reading “The Subtle Knife” last night, I realized My few run-on sentences are nothing compared with Pullman’s.

He has even strung three sentences together with semi-colons, and colons!

I think it’s all about the feel of the book, especially when you write conversationally.

4 Responses to “I finally feel Ok about my run-on sentences”

  1. Tooty January 1, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Sometimes my run-on sentences become gargantuan, and Microsoft Word simply won’t have it. I think the best way to check if they are too long is to read them out loud. If you pass out from lack of oxygen – they’re too long

    • featherbookseries January 1, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

      Ha ha, thats funny. But I like your sentences, and I like Pullman’s, and of course Mark Twain… Your explanation is the best yet!

  2. bethfehlbaum January 1, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    I agree, when writing dialogue, run on sentences sometimes indicate a breathless quality to the speaking.
    Beth Fehlbaum, author
    Courage in Patience, a story of hope for those who have endured abuse
    http://courageinpatience.blogspot.com
    Ch. 1 is online!

  3. essaadams January 6, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    i try to write my novels with simple sparse paragraphs and spurts of sentences mixed in but when I write posts like this i do not bother with much formality at all because i do not want to burnout so it’s like lambchop’s the song that never ends yes it goes on and on my friend – good to see you – it’s essa!

Leave a Reply

