The Intoxicating Smell Of A Book…

31 Dec

I was reading “The Subtle Knife,” when I took it upon myself to smell the book. Strange, I know, But have you ever done it?

I’ve spoken about the scent of a library book, very unique. But as the cool pages of this book brushed across my cheeks, I took in the subtle scent, of nature, long since past…

Paper comes from trees, naturally. But this smell lingers in books. The bitter undertones tickling your nose…

Just take a moment, open your latest read. Let the page linger within your senses. Now you’ll see what I’m talking about. As much as I endorse E-Readers, nothing beats the real thing. Something so tangible, so inviting.

4 Responses to “The Intoxicating Smell Of A Book…”

  1. Shannon December 31, 2008 at 5:34 am #

    I always find that library books smell kinda like spaghetti… It’s a little odd.
    <3sc

    • featherbookseries December 31, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

      Ha ha… now you’re the one refrencing food!

      but…I think you’re RIGHT! that’s totally what it is, like spaghetti-o’s!

  2. Geo January 3, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    Even better is when you can smell paper that hasn’t been overly produced by the manufacturing processes of regular paper.

    There is something to that “book smell” though. I can never get the hang of e-readers, and one of those actually is the reasons. 😀

Leave a Reply

