The Battle over Book Cover Art…Word to the wise, Don’t let Stephenie Meyer design her own…

10 Jan

For most of us, it’s obvious that we leave the cover art up to the professionals…As seen here with Stephenie Meyer’s attempts at her own… craptastic is an understatement…

Being a Graphic artist,  has it’s upsides, but yesterday was the deadline for the cover art to be sent to the publisher, and needless to say it was a nail biter. I literally second guessed myself the whole way, to SEND. I even drove 30 miles to take a picture of my tree, that I love. Unfortunately that tree is on a major Highway, which is not fun when your out there, taking pictures, likely CAUSING an accident…

Anyways, I just hope it’s good, a hybrid of all the covers seen out there right now, the cat the tree the glowing etc etc. all that stuff Fantasy novels love on their covers…

Besides, do you really think that Stephenie could have ever sold her books with THOSE covers?? We can, and DO judge a book by it’s cover, it’s human instinct to do so. Just as we do with humans, the initial interest is purely based on look after all.

So in the end, I guess all we can say is that we did our best, sei la vie…

4 Responses to “The Battle over Book Cover Art…Word to the wise, Don’t let Stephenie Meyer design her own…”

  1. jmreep January 10, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    I found an interesting site the other day that offers a huge gallery of outstanding and creative book cover designs:
    http://www.bookcoverarchive.com/

    It’s interesting that you should post on this topic. Yesterday, I wrote about the troubles that I’ve been having while designing the back cover of my own book. I’m the first to admit that I am certainly not a professional graphic designer, and so my designs probably look a little amateurish, too (although, as bad as they may be, I think my overall design is better than the design I was forced to use by a publisher ten years ago — a publisher who DID employ a professional graphic artist). But one of the things that appeals to me about self-publishing is the whole DIY ethos. No, my designs may not look completely professional, but I made them myself and I think that makes them a little more meaningful.

    • featherbookseries January 10, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

      Yes, i too like the factor of havin gmy own book cover, designed by me. What I’ve found, is that just because you’re quote “professional graphic artist” doesn’t mean you’re good. There were SO many students that went through college with me, and I wondered why they’d chose design as a degree…

      I don’t see how they could even get a job, let alone with a publisher. I’d be curious to see your cover 🙂 I won’t pass jusdgement, I just like seeing this stuff. I’ll check out that site, perhaps it will spark something creative for me. Covers are real important, as I said, and I think it’s important that the Author loves it, because it’s their baby, and it’s hard to sell something you don’t love.

      🙂 Best of luck!

  2. jmreep January 10, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    Oh, I welcome any feedback! In my post yesterday, I even inserted a poll and requested visitors vote on the covers. My post got a bunch of hits, but only two visitors bothered to vote. 😦

    Here’s a direct link to what I think I’d like the full cover to look like (I think you should be able to access this):

    And, just for cheap laughs, here is what the professionally designed front cover for the 1996 edition of the same novel looked like:

    • featherbookseries January 10, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

      I loaded mine, so you can see, course they are completely different genre’s with completely different fan set’s, but you know 🙂 At first, my cover was going to look like it does on Amazon, but i’ve changed my mind when the proof came back. On the computer, the title looks cooler on the first version, but when it come to me printed, i thought it was cheesy. With the new title, in the light blue grey, I hope to make the second printing (If i get popular enough, cross my fingers!) have an embossed look, with a pearlized pantone blue/grey.

      Have you published on Mobipocket yet? you should. That’s been a great outlet for me, if you go to the fantasy thread, they list by bestsellers, and mine just squeaked onto the first page. It’s great for getting things out internationally, site made by a man in france. ALSO they supply to many other ebook retailers such as ebook.com, and others that are hard to get onto sometimes… best of luck! You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

