The Art of Becoming Edgar Allan Poe…Getting inside the mind of a tortured soul

31 Jan

Picture From Wikipedia.com

Picture From Wikipedia.com

My book series roughly revolves around the works of Edgar Allan Poe, and the 19th century in general. Today, as I was writing book two, I had the experience of re-creating what Edgar would have really been like, if you had met him in the flesh.

Since my book is a bit quirky, and at times funny, I decided to take Edgar’s personality to an unexpected level. A bit nutty, and a bit eccentric and self centered, Edgar tends to excite all around him. When I Wikipedia’d him, there was an old photo, and despite his undeniable look of disdain, and perhaps boredom, I played at the gentle fact, that I definitely almost sense a smirk, deep within, one that fooled everyone. I believe he merely wore a mask, played his part to enlist his work.

As one of the founding fathers of Science Fiction, I found that adding him to the Feather Book Series was a natural partnership. Besides his additions to the world of Sci-fi, he was also the first to bring the world of Mystery/Thriller, to the forefront, being the first to start the genre.

Now, I hadn’t known all this when I initially enlisted to use “The Raven” as a founding topic of Feather, but now, I find that Edgar fits more than ever into my scene, creating the perfect web of mystery, and interest.

In book two, Guardian, expect to see Edgar depicted as never before. An eccentrically happy man in his forties, the forties he never lived, but lives now. A man full of happiness, creation, and dark secrets, a man I see as myself, and more.

if your interesting in reading feather, it is currently available on Mobipocket, Amazon, and lulu.com. Book comes out on paperback today! and you can order through the website using the safe and secure Google checkout…

Also On MobiPocket, Diesel Books, Kindle, Books On Board, and Barnes and Noble

Also On MobiPocket, Diesel Books, Kindle, Books On Board, and Barnes and Noble

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “The Art of Becoming Edgar Allan Poe…Getting inside the mind of a tortured soul”

  1. eBookGuru January 31, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    Your new feather series site turned out great.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

    • featherbookseries January 31, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

      thanks to you and telling me about Mobi, that was great and it really helped boost it

      Thanks!

      Abra

  2. Midnightdreary February 2, 2009 at 4:40 am #

    I like your premise about Poe’s smirk. Poe definitely had a great sense of humor, a playful side, and was a lot more fun than the melancholy image others have painted of him. Just remember to spell his name Edgar “Allan” Poe (or, better yet, use the name he used: Edgar A. Poe)!

  3. Shannon February 2, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    I love Edgar A. Poe’s work.
    I’ve been meaning to buy his complete works. I’ve been meaning to buy a lot of books recently, but I have to wait until I have a paycheque to do so.

    <3sc

  4. Katherine murphy March 14, 2009 at 12:42 am #

    When my brother first told me that i should read this I thought nothing could compare to the House of night novels,harry potter or twilight, but stright off I liked it and i was so sad when i finished it… I really enjoyed your book and i cant wait till the second one is released, a couple of my friends who have been looking for a new series to read are staring to read this series, and so far they all love it…
    katheirne murphy

  5. Lindsay Cameron March 16, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    My friend Katherine Murphy actually let me read her copy of feather and i loved it soooo much! you are such an amazing writer. the ending of the book was really amazing and I really hope edgar comes back!! do you know when you will be releasing guardian??

    lindsay

Leave a Reply

