The Trials of Being a Young Writer…

8 Feb

For many of us, becoming a writer takes time, and effort, as it inevitably will for me. But, the one thing that always sets someone apart, is talent. I believe, as I always have going through college as an art student, that certain talents, can’t be taught. Creativity is an inherent trait, thatgrows from a strong forgotten mind, a mind tortured by itself, finding its only solace through expression.

The root of my creativity grew from my youth. I’ve always had the desire to write, but never took it into consideration, beyond that of my extensive collection of journals. Having a journal is a forgotten treat of the memory. When I was fifteen, I recorded my first tale of love when I met my first boyfriend. What I cherish most about that record of life, is that he died, but I will forever have those raw moments of emotion to read over, time and time again, keeping his memory alive.

In college, I never paid any mind to grammar, or sentence structure, and so I’m growing to learn this as I go, but I believe my plots, are that of deep reflection, and raw imagination. A real story is born in the subject matter, not the manner it is written. If I reflect on the nature of the Twilight Series, I find that what makes the book amazing to most, is the manner in which Stephanie wrote the characters, the root of the subject matter, and the way it effects us all.

Stephanie was also a virgin writer, as am I, but what sets me apart, I suppose, is my age. I don’t often talk about my age, because I find people are to fast to past judgement, as though saying that I haven’t lived enough life to know enough to write. I believe, there are some people that have lived more in a day, then many have in months. I am intuitive, and try my best to realize all that goes on around me, to take it in with each precious moment as though it was the last. I’ve traveled the world, studied and read everything I can, and have seen things, only a handful ever will.

Having experienced death so close to my heart, you come out with a different understanding, especially when that soul died so young, before he even got the chance to share his talents with the world. I fear death, and perhaps that’s why I’ve pushed myself to live life to the extreme, to take every whim, and embrace it.

I’ve never wasted time with bad grades, with lazy effort, or worthless careers, and I hope, my readers come to understand my journey, and grow with me, as I surely will. Perhaps it’s the fact that I feel I’ve found my real point of expression, but writing for me, has a long way to come… And I’m very excited with where it’s going…

7 Responses to “The Trials of Being a Young Writer…”

  1. eBookGuru February 8, 2009 at 5:47 am #

    I think creativity is something you can grow right along with your writing abillity. As an example, reading is a simple way to take your imagination on a journey and feed an active mind.

    Life experience is only a part of the picture, and the brain is a limitless machine that can be led in many different directions, including feeding your creative juices.

    I also don’t believe that there is such thing as raw-talent when it comes to writing (Age doesn’t matter either).

    Being someone who works with many different writers, and who writes himself:

    It’s the writers that are willing to learn and grow that do eventually find success. It’s the ones that think there is no room for growth that often fail.

    When I review books for our site, if I review two books from the same authors it becomes quite apparent which ones are working towards growth and which ones aren’t.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

    • featherbookseries February 8, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

      exactly, no matter what I do, I always think that I could do better. It’s true that talent is not limited to age, or status, but rather the openess of ones thoughts, and mind. I am never one to object critisizm, and in fact, I love it. I want to be challenged, because otherwise, I lose interest. When I watch TV, I’m restless, but when I read, I’m engulfed. Thats the difference to me, and writing is just another layer in that, because to me, it feels like I’m reading, but in fact, the story is coming from my own mind, from a place I’m not even able to access without writing it down.

      Thanks 🙂 you always have good comments.

  2. teachmelife February 8, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    So was this an old post before you wrote your book? Or a post containing the growth of a writer who has just published her first book?

    • featherbookseries February 8, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

      The post containing the growth of a writer as I wrote and published my first book. As the final copy came, it’s interesting to look back and see how far I’ve come, and how many things I’ve learned that will change with the second book of the series. It’s like learning how to snowboard, you think your good, but then you get better, and you realize, the sky is the limit…

  3. AC February 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I received my paper-back copy of Feather yesterday when I got home from work and of course started on reading it right away. I managed to make it a few chapters into the book and then had to put it down to tend to my family for the evening. I’m looking forward to picking back up where I left off.
    So far I’m really loving it Abra; well done!!!!

    • featherbookseries February 10, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

      Well thank you! You were the first to get it 😉 so I’m glad you enjoy it. Feel free to email me or leave me comments at any time, and again, Thank You Andrea!

      AE

  4. Ella April 29, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

    Abra,
    I have received your book ‘Feather’ on Monday and finished it by Tuesday. 😉 I believe that you did a great job! Can’t wait to start reading ‘Gardian’!
    I wish you the best of luck with all of your future writings!
    Sincerely,
    Ella

Leave a Reply

