I Appreciate Constructive Criticism, but I don’t Tolerate Mean Comments

27 Mar

The Fact of Emotion Fueled Anonomous Book Reviews…

The Internet makes it so easy, so accessible to criticize without ever truly facing the reality, or the thinker behind the project. I’m sure that if an author stood before you today, most would never say some of the things they do, but rather give their opinions in a way that is constructive to the writer…

I do not tolerate comments where a reader simply trash talks a book, what do you gain from that? What does ANYONE gain from that? One of the best critical reviews I’ve ever had was from a woman that suggested the things she disliked, pointed out the things she did, but then also offered her opinion on things she personally would suggest I work on. B-E-A-utiful!

Not everyone can birth themselves from a priveledged brain full of grammatical training and perfection, much as those with perfect grammar may never be able to write an interesting book full of rich imagination.

Would you criticise the way a person looks? Grammar is the same, sometimes no matter how hard we try, we are not cut out to be walking dictionaries, but rather visionaries, though both are rich within their own talents…

We are all human, and as a personal experiment, I am writing my book in the hopes of learning the art of becoming a better writer… I want to actually learn from my mistakes, not have them taunted upon…

Did DaVinci just quit when people criticized his backwards writing habits? No, so either will I. But truly, do me a favor, If your going to give me a negative review, at least give me something to build from. We’re all human, and we’re all entitled to our own freedom of speech and expression, this goes both ways, but this also does not mean you can be openly cruel and flat out rude, we’re all better than that…

I’m a real person, with real emotion, a real heart, and a real desire to express my soul and talents, no matter what that is. I believe in encouraging everyone I meet, no matter what their level of expertise may be because you never know what that person can become if nurtured in a way that is encouraging, not mean…

Don’t be a bully, but do be a helping hand, the person anyone would be proud to credit and admire as their protege` and friend. Our world will not succeed if we’re all in a war against eachother…

A.E.

 

4 Responses to “I Appreciate Constructive Criticism, but I don’t Tolerate Mean Comments”

  1. Philip Edwards March 27, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    Hi,

    I enjoyed the above article. Great writing! Never let stupid people bother you. Write and Write and Publish and Publish…

    Thanks!

    Phil Edwards
    (pmespeak.com)

  2. Adi Nugroho March 27, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    great article. thank

  3. savein March 30, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    Here here! Wish more people had that much common sense. Criticism should only be offered if it helps you grow and not knock you down.

  4. Heather March 31, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    I thoroughly enjoyed your book. Being from Seattle myself, I enjoyed your choice of scenery. Very majestic. Can’t wait for book 2.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

