I finally Unpacked…

20 Jun

Do you know how it feels to have everything in your life packed up for three years??? I do. Roughly three and a half years ago my husband asked me to marry him so I packed all my stuff and moved across state. Today, finally, I unpacked it because the house was finished and the opportunity arose. I found so many things I forgot about. For anyone that’s seen the movie Dream Catcher there was a great analogy I’d like to use here. In the movie, one of the characters refers to his memory as a “Memory Warehouse” where he actually keeps files of his memories in file boxes in a sort of library. I like to believe my mind works the same way. In the movie, when  a memory no longer holds enough clout and the character needs room for new memories , he incinerates them in an incinerator. I believe we do the same, and with all the things I had packed, I did. When we got married two years ago, I got all new things and so my old things were forgotten. Opening the boxes was a total mind trip, finding things you thought were gone forever, or that you never knew you ever had, even if it was something you had all day. Amoung things I found my journals and of course those house memories I had long but forgotten, and it makes it seem as though I’m reading about someone elses life. Most of the memories I can’t even make a mental image for anymore. Just interesting, much like a time capsule I suppose…

Well, good for unpacking right??

A.E.

4 Responses to “I finally Unpacked…”

  1. IJ Styles June 20, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

    Interesting post. So, packing all the stuffs in your house is quite a hard work to do and it is really tiring. We’ve done it once and soon another again but the fun is there and memories with the old ones of course.

    • featherbookseries June 21, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

      Yes, I hate moving ugh! But it is fun, almost like christmas all over! I thought I only got 5 place settings of china for my wedding and while unpacking I found three more that were unopened, that and my wedding ring martini glass, needless to say I had to use it 😉

  2. Shannon June 22, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    Being unpacked is the most freeing feeling in the world!
    I moved in with a friend of mine 2 months ago and still have another 4 months on the lease so I’m living, sorta outta boxes for now until I move in with the boyfriend in November. Which I can’t wait for.

    Congrats to you for being unpacked! (it’s a big thing!)
    <3sc

  3. Shannon June 22, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Also, thank goodness you’re posting again!
    <3sc

Leave a Reply

