Funny things my Editor says about the Feather re-edit…

12 Oct

I read this today while re-editing Feather for the third time… Just couldn’t stop laughing!!!! I love Christina! She was saying this in reference to the part where Estella grabs a ruffled pile of pre-warn clothes to wear for the second day…

“.(Abra – I changed this line b/c I felt like while we get that Estella had a rough first day, do we need her to be smelly and nasty?  She has a hard enough time fitting in…does she need to be the stinky kid too?  lol.  Also, if there is going to be a romance between her and Edgar, she needs to be somewhat appealing to him – and us!) “

7 Responses to “Funny things my Editor says about the Feather re-edit…”

  1. Christina (the editor) October 12, 2009 at 11:41 pm #

    In my defense….I teach middle school and I know all about the stinky kid. I’d hate to see Estella get pigeon-holed as one! Lol

    • Ingrid Marie October 15, 2009 at 9:13 am #

      Haha, I guess you’re right. 🙂

  2. Ingrid Marie October 13, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

    But she dosn’t sweat that much does she? I recall something about that she hardly had to shower.

  3. Uninvoked October 20, 2009 at 11:58 pm #

    Oooh. >.< Typically if someone says they hardly need to shower, they ARE the stinky kid. I vividly recall the kid with the nasty breath proudly telling me she hardly ever needed to brush her teeth, they were so clean…

  4. heidi soehren October 21, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    oh yes and Tim Race loved Parallel!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Amber October 29, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    I am reading Feather now… Just got it 2 days ago on Kindle. I work in publishing so I know all about editing. Is the new Feather release going to change much? I would hate to need to buy a new edition of Feather to fully understand Book II when I buy it for my Kindle in a couple months once it’s available in the new edition.
    Are we looking at a lot of changes?

    Thanks!
    Amber
    (P.S. So far I am really enjoying the read!)

    • Abra Ebner October 29, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

      Hi!

      In answer to you question, the story itself will not change. Everything will happen just as it always did 🙂 As someone who is familiar with publishing, you may notice things, however, namely punctuation, and words with a double meaning, perhaps simply sentences that are more complicated than they need to be. I’ve self published Feather from the beginning in hopes of learning to write better 🙂 I know I have a story, but conventions held me back, and I don’t want them to!

      Hope you like it! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

      A.E.

Leave a Reply

