Why is it the Holidays come Sooner Every Year?

27 Oct

Christmas decor

at least some people know how to do it up right...

I’m watching the Today show right now, and it makes me laugh to think that, yet Halloween is this Saturday, and thanksgiving still seems like a glimmer on the horizon, IHOP is already playing holiday commercials? Tasty Egg Nog Pancakes and red and green sprinkles? Hold It! I want to enjoy my leftover turkey enchiladas first! I’ll admit, I tend to get into the spirit a bit sooner than most, but its October 27th, and I’m just not sure I feel comfortable thinking about Christmas just yet. I decorated with fall decor in the middle of September, but I waited until the first frost, and where I live in a farm town, harvest was over and the fall spirit was a natural transition with bundles of dried corn and wheat.

I was talking to my mother the other morning as she was putting up christmas lights… Isn’t it an unspoken rule to wait until AFTER thanksgiving to ‘lightify’ your abode? I understand that some people get snow rather early in the season, and they want to get the lights on the gutters before Jack Frost comes and makes them slip off the roof to their death.

At least Papa Murphey’s Pizza gets it. They’re making a Jack-O-Latern pizza! I love it! I’m a stickler for their heart-shaped pizzas on Valentine’s day, what can I say!

2008_12_07_8056_christmas_decorations_book

Some people get way too excited.

Some people just get way too excited about the holidays. Can’t they just wear a pair of secret Santa socks and wait?

I think what really gets people excited is all the food. Why else is weight loss the number one wished for thing on New Years. Loose Clothes! Winter! YAY! Well, not me. I got the flu and lost four pounds…

October for me marked the inevitable race to make as many pumpkin pies and humanly possible. It’s my favorite, but try as I may, it’s just not the same in August.

You know what it really come down to, though? The economy. Retailers know that shoppers will be buying less this year, so they are going to try twice as hard to get people out there… Politics and Christmas… Ahhhhhh, I love the holidays.

3 Responses to “Why is it the Holidays come Sooner Every Year?”

  1. Uninvoked October 27, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    I made jack-o-lanterns and rode monster trucks. I believe I have expressed my holiday cheer well enough for the month of october. ^^

    • Abra Ebner October 27, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

      Lol. I want to ride monster trucks!

  2. Susan October 27, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    1rst of all by the vw pic it looks like you have been wandering the back roads of Idaho again? lol
    2nd why does it not surprise me your mom is putting up Christmas lights already? lol You know my mom will be soon after!

Leave a Reply

