The Turtle and The Hare…

9 Jun

My feet looked at me and said, “I’m tired of being the turtle!”

I laughed, sipping on my hot cocoa as my feet were elevated on the couch. “Too bad!” I retorted, though I felt the same way – I was tired of being the turtle, too.

“Get me some new shoes and I’ll show you what we can do,” my feet challenged.

A half smile snaked across my cheek. “But I don’t like to run.”

My feet chuckled mockingly. “How would you know if you’ve never tried? You’ve always had an excuse, but what you don’t realize is that once you start, I guarantee you won’t want to stop!”

Finding I was looking for a hobby, and not one to turn down a challenge, I narrowed my eyes and grabbed my old sneakers. “Let’s first give these shoes a try. I’m not buying you new toys if we won’t use them!”

My feet frowned, but found they had no other choice. I took them to the track and off we went.

At the end I stopped, breathing hard after only one mile.

“So?” my feet asked, practically dancing with joy.

I didn’t want to admit that I liked the feeling, so I just smiled and winked instead. “Yeah, we’ll see how I feel tomorrow.”

The next day I woke with the most veracious need to run.

My feet chuckled at me. “Told you so!”

“Fine,” I broke down. “I’ll get you new shoes.”

Little did I know that was the beginning of the end – the end of being a turtle, and the beginning of what would become my marathon training regimen.

We now run three miles when we go out and we barely break a sweat (well, can’t really say the same for my feet). Biking for and hour and a half seems like a stroll through the park, and weight lifting – a cinch! Life as a Hare is so much better! My feet were right!

It’s marathon season, folks! Get out, and get moving!

One Response to “The Turtle and The Hare…”

  1. Becca June 9, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Way to go!!! It does feel good to get moving! Especially because marathon season coincides with bathing suit season – lol!

Leave a Reply

