A Tiny, Yet Electric Taste of the Upcoming Final Book, ‘Raven’

3 Jan

I thought, why not a teaser. I was just working through this bit of the book, still. And thought, I give you a bit of something to chew on for the next couple weeks until the release! So without much further to say…

I turned away from him, walking to the wall across the room where my paintings hung. My jaw was tight, as it had been constantly for the past few weeks. I looked at the one painting of myself. I used to see this girl as someone that was happy and carefree, but now that I knew better, I saw something far darker. What I saw was someone that struggled with her confidence day by day. She was someone that was tormented in the same way Edgar had been. I overdrove my emotions in the hopes of achieving my idea of true happiness, but was that even possible? What would have happened if I had let go of all my responsibilities and just lived? Would we even be here?

I turned away from the wall then, annoyed with myself. My eyes locked with Edgar’s and I realized he was still here. His face was impassive, as though he were no more than a statue. I licked my lips, watching him as he watched me walk back toward him. When I reached him, I saw in his eyes something I’d missed. I thought back to the first day we met, back to the day when I didn’t know who he was, and the way his eyes had both frightened and amazed me.

My fingers touched his collar bone, tracing back and around his neck. I was remembering his outline, and the way I worshiped every inch of it. He put one hand on my waist, the ring on his finger burning through my shirt and stinging my skin. It was the only part of him that still glowed with life. I lowered my face until our eyes were level with each other, my breath passing my parted lips. He leaned toward me but I mirrored his movements, leaning away from him. I was too drawn by his gaze to lose it just yet. I saw calm and unity locked inside those eyes, something the world held little of these days.

He did not smile or find my resistance at all amusing. His hand on my waist tightened, pulling me toward him. Still, I resisted. The look on his face grew frustrated and angry as he tried ever harder to lean in and kiss me, but as I stared at the voids of his eyes, I could not give in. There was still a part of me that wanted to punish him for the way he’d acted toward me, but I found it was hard to resist falling in love all over again. My mind began to fog. 

6 Responses to “A Tiny, Yet Electric Taste of the Upcoming Final Book, ‘Raven’”

  1. Becca January 4, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    I can’t wait for the release of Raven! Please let me know where and when I can buy it.

  2. Denise Snow January 4, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Ok, I have been sooo ready and waiting for book 3 and now I am counting the days!!! You just wetting my inquisitive nature more!!! come on Raven!!!

    Loved Parallel, what an imagination you have!
    D

    • Abra Ebner January 5, 2010 at 12:14 am #

      Lol. Denise, you crack me up! So soon!!!!

      Abra

  3. Heather January 4, 2010 at 4:55 am #

    Hell yeah!

    Heather

  4. shackles January 9, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    I have been waiting so long for book three raven. Mrs abra can u please tell me when the book will be out i am so tired of waiting. It’s a New Year and still no book i cant wait any more.

Leave a comment