When It Rains, It Pours…Working from Home

8 Jan

I’m remodeling my home, and well, it leaks. It’s literally pouring today, and water is streaming down my unsealed brand new solid Cherry front door, not cool.

But aside from the pouring rain, I’m sure all us Northwesterners have come to love, it seems my story I deas are pouring in as well. I can’t keep up, and I’ve created several outlines now and it’s hard to focus on writing Feather: Book Two “Guardian”

I’m trying to focus, I really am, but between the rain and my spratically crazy mind that won’t stop running, it seems impossible. I’m the type that starts something, usually, and ends up literally not sleeping or eating until its done, so trying to tackle two books at once is a lot to think of, and a lot of weird dreams.

I think I’ve begun to live a life when I go to sleep, since I don’t allow myself to do anything but work during the day. But the problem is, when you work at home, it’s really hard to NOT work, when it’s so accessable, and at times, exceedingly entertaining.

4 Responses to “When It Rains, It Pours…Working from Home”

  1. Shannon January 8, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    It’s raining up here too.. but that’s Vancouver for you. 😛
    I hope your door doesn’t get totally ruined! Because that would suck. A house is not a house without a door.

    I’m looking forward to Feather Book One coming out. I’ve read a few summaries of it and it sounds great! I’ll definitely be buying it once it’s out in stores. By then I’ll have finished Breaking Dawn and will be looking for something else other then news papers to read.

    I’ve started a few books (none of them really that good) and the closest I came to finishing one was just before I killed off the main character… I know.. terrible, but it opened it up for a sequel, which I in turn started writing instead! Hah. Terrible.

    <3sc

    • featherbookseries January 8, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

      Yeah, and of course I-5 is closed to Portland from flooding, fun stuff YUCK. My grandma lives in Anacortes, shes flippin granny panties right now I’m glad you’ll read my book, you’ll like it I hope ha ha, it IS based in the North Cascades afterall, after this college my parents visited this summer called The North Cascades Institute, it’s super secluded and creepy. I think its funny cause its basically all the things that are GOOD about Twilight, with nothing bad, course I found out about Twilight AFTER I wrote my book, which super pisses me off even more, that little arizona twit stole my thunder, but it sure helps marketing ha ha…

      no vamps though, sorry, like I said, it’s a little too food related, not to mention flawed…

      But seriously, I’d like to hear your honest opinion, so hit me with it when the time comes and ya read it 😉

      Did you know both my books are self-published? It’s tough, but Barnes and Noble picked it up, and it will go to a distributor and all that, but that was not cake. I do my own websites and google ads is awesome for marketing, and blogs too.

      Just in case one day you want to self publish one of those books you’ve wrote. For giggles, try using lulu.com, you can sell to your friends or otherwise, if you get a fan following, a lot of your stuff is rather hilarious in my opinion.

  2. Shannon January 8, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    “which super pisses me off even more, that little Arizona twit stole my thunder” HAH!
    I’ve tried making my own websites. I’m not sure how yet. I’ve got a domain now, and my step dad does hosting, but I haven’t a clue where to start with actually designing it (other then in dream weaver). Which is odd. You’d think that I would know this kind of stuff going to a technology art school. Heh…

    <3sc

    • featherbookseries January 9, 2009 at 12:19 am #

      Yeah I look at dreamweaver and my brain turns into top ramen, but I really love and use Fireworks by Adobe. Sometimes, us creative people don’t speak…

      ifra src=”http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=featherbook-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B001O2SO42&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=B6CFC7&bc1=000000&bg1=40745F&f=ifr” style=”width:120px;height:240px;” scrolling=”no” marginwidth=”0″ marginheight=”0″ frameborder=”0″></ifra

      Because really, I’m not a techy ha ha. If you have Fireworks, Photoshop, and Illustrator it makes website makin EASY…(and with a student discount you can get some awsome programs pretty cheap. I have a mac and two PC’s but I keep most of my art stuff on the Mac, so I buy through the education store with apple, I’m a part-time university employee, I get discounts too heh heh) also try going to Wix.com, that’s fun, but I know you have to pay to get it so you can use your own domain address. But still it’s just plum FUN. if you have myspace or anything like that you can make embeded codes and drop them into your profile like I did on my myspace page, which i have no clue what the link for that even is ha ha, or I’d tell you…

      My husband then takes my files from fireworks and does some unknown hocus pocus so that its not just a giant image, but that’s not really necessary. and fireworks has this funny thing about borders, like if you go to my site for feather, you see I’ve just made it a square cause I didn’t have the patience to figure it all out ha ha. but Swiss Chocolate is set up in such a way that you wouldn’t necessarily see it’s just one big square…

Leave a comment